Bertrand Piccard just embarked on the first solo transatlantic crossing in a solar-powered airplane.

He took off from JFK, New York at 6:30AM UTC, 8:30AM CET, and 2:30AM EDT on June 20th and will be landing at Seville Airport, Spain approximately 90 hours later. "We have already proved perpetual endurance with Solar Impulse 2 and now we will do it again with Bertrand Piccard in the cockpit to close the last big stretch of ocean. This flight is one of the most challenging legs of the Round-The-World Solar Flight," said the team. 

June 20, 2016 Driving photo: Solar Impulse

Latest issue

Poll

Which electric car do you think is the most sensible to buy at the moment?

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings

close