The word breakthrough best describes the mountain race to Pikes Peak that took place last weekend since the first and second place belonged to two electric cars.

The first to finish 20 kilometer long track that overcomes a height difference of 1440 meter in the course of its 156 turns was Rhys Millen, who set a new track record for electric cars with his electric racing car Drive eO with a time of 9 minutes and 07,222 seconds.

The absolute fastest track record although remains in the hands of Sebastian Loeb, who finished the race in 2013 with his tuned Peugeot 208 in 8 minutes and 12,878 seconds, a time that remains out of reach for electric (and other) racing cars. Second place also belonged to an electric car, the E-Runner, which was developed by Rimac Automobili (and tested by Akrapovič) and driven by Nobuhiro "Monster" Tajima, who reached the finish line in 9 minutes and 32,401 seconds.

As every year, the race to Pikes Peak was a vibrant gathering of very diverse cars and drivers, so everyone who made it from start to finish was a moral champion, whether he drove an oldtimer, a truck or a pure-bred racing car.

July 1, 2015 Driving

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings