The warm Arizona air welcomed André Borschberg to Phoenix Goodyear Airport.

André Borschberg softly landed on the warm Phoenix Goodyear Airport tarmac at 3:55AM UTC, 5:55AM CET on May 3rd, and at 8:55PM MST on May 2nd.

He left 15 hours and 55 minutes before from Moffett Airfield, California where Si2 had been resting for a week after Bertrand Piccard's 62 hour and 29 minute flight from Hawaii. "This flight marks the first flight on the North American continent with Si2, reminding the team of our memories from the Across America tour with Solar Impulse 1 back in 2013," said the team. 

André managed the flight very easily, he even got to Phoenix earlier than expected with strong tail winds that pushed him at 186 km/hour - 115 miles/hour - well above Si2's flight speed average! He flew close to the SpaceX headquarters and above the Mojave Desert where many American heroes pushed the limits of aviation. Individuals including Burt Rutan, Charles Yeager, Paul MacCready, and Richard Branson have all inspired Bertrand Piccard and André Borschberg to build a solar-powered aircraft.

May 3, 2016 Driving photo: Solar Impulse

Latest issue

Plugin magazine 04/2016


Which electric car do you think is the most sensible to buy at the moment?

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings