After a week of rest at Moffett Airfield, Mountain View, California, Si2 is ready for the next adventure with André Borschberg.

André will takeoff on May 2nd at 12:00PM UTC, 2:00PM CET, 5:00AM PT to continue the round-the-world solar flights across America. "We have found a clear weather window that will bring us over the Mojave Desert to Phoenix Goodyear Airport. This will take an estimated 16 hours, crossing over 720 miles," said the team.

Si2 is currently housed in the mobile hangar, which means that there is limited space and therefore the aircraft requires even more surveillance. You can learn more about how the mobile hangar is set-up here:

Step into the shoes of a Solar Impulse team member and watch this 360 video. You no longer have to be a spectator - sit back, plug your headphones in, and immerse yourself in their vision of today as they share their experience at Solar Impulse with you. This will bring you one step closer to flying in a solar airplane and perhaps one day, you will also feel the breeze.

May 1, 2016 Driving photo: Bertrand Piccard

Latest issue

Plugin magazine 04/2016


Which electric car do you think is the most sensible to buy at the moment?

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings