After a tense competition with his Techeetah team mate Andre Lotterer, Jean-Eric Vergne took a title of winner at Fromula E race which took place this weekend in Santiago de Chile.

The pair even slightly colided at the streets of Chilean capital, but nevertheless managed to finish with the first one-two finish in the history of electric championship, with Sebastien Buemi in Renault e-dams following with almost a second of difference on the third place.

At the begining of the race it was not possible to tell the final winners. Vergne lead the race and stayed there until the finish, and Lotterer overtook Buemi and moved to second place but both were surprised by Nelson PIquet jr. who moved arround the outside of the first corner and overtook them. Because of the crashof Jose Maria Lopez later in the race the safety car was deployed which endengered the Piquet position but at the end he resisted in second place and even pressed Vergne for shorter part of the race. Vergne at the end managed to get rid of Piquet, which fell into the grasps of Lotterer who at the end took second place again.

Then Lotterer slowly started to close in to the Vergne and even came very close to team mate, but Vergne held his nerve and managed to push Lotterer back to second place. Later Lotterer repeated the move and even crashed with Vergne but both cars managed to survive without fatal damage and both dirvers finished the race with Vergne in first and Lotterer in second place.

As for the others, Buemi and Bird in the battle for fourth place managed to re-enact their close duel from Marrakesh, Rosenqvst, who after dissapointing quallifying session started race on 14th place, with finishing on fourth place managed to secure points again, and Piquet after promising start locked his brakes and lost time by recovering from run-off area.

2018 Antofagasta Minerals Santiago E-Prix (Rd 4)

1 - Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH, 1:01:24.514s (28)

2 - Andre Lotterer, TECHEETAH, +1.154s (18)

3 - Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams, +1.959s (15)

4 - Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing, +2.793s (12)

5 - Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing, +4.490s (11)

6 - Nelson Piquet Jr, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, +6.364s (8)

7 - Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, +7.099s (6)

8 - Jerome D'Ambrosio, DRAGON, +13.308s (4)

9 - Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti Formula E, +14.811s (2)

10 - Nico Prost, Renault e.dams, +21.092s (1)

11 - Tom Blomqvist, Andretti Formula E, +32.924s

12 - Luca Filippi, NIO Formula E Team, +44.127s

13 - Edoardo Mortara, Venturi Formula E Team, +49.398s

14 - Oliver Turvey, NIO Formula E Team, +1:12.282s

DNF - Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing, 26 Laps

DNF - Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing, 23 Laps

DNF - Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, 21 Laps

DNF - Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, 11 Laps

DNF - Jose Maria Lopez, DRAGON

DNF - Maro Engel, Venturi Formula E Team

Driver standings

Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH - 71

Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing - 66

Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing - 61

Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams - 37

Nelson Piquet Jr, Panasonic Jaguar Racing - 33

Team standings


Mahindra Racing - 87

DS Virgin Racing - 69

Panasonic Jaguar Racing - 54

Renault e.dams - 44

Venturi Formula E Team - 30

Andretti Formula E - 14

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler - 12


NIO Formula E Team - 9

Feb. 4, 2018 Driving photo: FIA Formula E

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings