Despite leading by 3 points before the last race in London's Battersea Park and placing in front of Buemi, Lucas de Grassi has allowed Sebastien Buemi to take the crown.

After penultimate race on Saturday di Grassi held a slender, 3-point lead over Buemi. However, Formula E rules also give championship points for pole position and fastest lap in the race. Sunday qualifying brought the first showdown between two drivers, with Buemi getting the pole by a whole second and leveling with di Grassi in championship points. Even worse, di Grassi missed starting in first row alongside Buemi by a mere 0.027 seconds. The race proper between Buemi and di Grassi lasted only a few corners. Brazilian tried to overtake Buemi in turn 3 and crashed into him, sending both cars in barriers. Buemi was left without the rear wing while di Grassi limped to pits with front right wheel broken. Both continued, Buemi after repairs and di Grassi with a second car, but the race between them turned into contest for fastest lap, which brings extra points. Buemi was dominant again, while di Grassi managed fastest sectors in his last attempt but then faltered in last one, bringing Buemi extra points and championship title which he missed by a single point last season. Renault e.dams also won teams championship after Nico Prost scored his second victory of the weekend. Next season of Formula E begins on October 9th in Hong Kong and finishes with a double-header in New York on July 30th 2017, adding 5 new cities to the calendar (Hong Kong, Marrakech, Brussels, Montreal and New York) and probably dropping London from the calendar.

July 3, 2016 Driving

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings