Berlin hosted the eighth race of the FIA Formula E championship. Only two races remain in the season and the fight for the top step of driver standings has reached its peak.

In front of huge crowd of spectators around at the track at the former airport Tempelhof, Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt) has crossed the finish line first, but was excluded from the race classification due to technical irregularities on the front wing. The victory went to Jérôme d'Ambrosio (Dragon Racing).

In qualifying, Jarno Trulli was fastest and won the pole position, but his lead in the race lasted less than a lap, as Lucas di Grassi stormed past him and rapidly gained a significant advantage over the chasing pack. Sébastien Buemi managed to get past Trulli on the sixth lap, Nick Heidfeld (Venturi) and Jérôme d'Ambrosio did the same a lap later. Buemi then started chasing after Di Grassi, but his progress was hampered as he was under pressure by d'Ambrosio. During the pit stops d'Ambrosio was faster than Buemi and returned to the track in second position, but to far behind Di Grassi to challenge him. In the end the difference between first and second place was healthy seven seconds.

However, after the race the steward excluded Di Grassi as the front wing of his car was deemed to be illegal, and D'Ambrosio climbed to the highest step of the podium. Buemi was second and Loic Duval managed to overtake Heidfeld to take third.

In the driver standings Buemi has closed to within two points of Nelson Piquet (Brazilian managed to get fourth in the race), and in teams' classification e.dams-Renault continues to enjoy a huge lead.

May 26, 2015 Driving

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings