Eight U.S. states and five other countries around the globe plan to end new sales of petrol-powered cars by the year 2050.

Involved in the project to completely cut vehicles with the internal combustion engines are U.S. states California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island and Vermont that follow California's zero-emission vehicle mandate, along with countries from global Zero Emission Vehicle alliance. These include Germany, United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Norway and Quebec in Canada. According to the members of initiative, this total shift to zero emission vehicles would lead to a 40 percent cut in global vehicle emissions.

Dec. 11, 2015 Driving photo: Profimedia

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings