After being second on the grid, French managed to score a much needed win.

Today’s Formula E race was quite the opposite of what we have seen on the last chaotic race in Hong Kong and so were the results. After not scoring a single point on a previous race, French driver, Jean-Eric Vergne from DS Techeetah managed to cross the finish line in Sanya first and scored his sixth victory in the series. In fact, he made the first step to victory on qualifications, where he was second fastest behind Oliver Rowland.

In fact, Vergne and Rowland had the race totally in their control, since they were in the lead from start to finish. After having a good start and leading for half of the race Rowland made a small mistake, giving a small window of opportunity to Verge, who passed Nissan driver and stayed in the lead until finish – even after safety car was deployed.

To make the things even more dramatic, two crashes happened today. The first one took its toll on Sam Bird, who started the race as the leader in championship. After crashing with Stoffel Vandooren both drivers had to retire, meaning that Bird lost the leading position in championship. Second crash was more severe and while Andre Lotter managed to escape retirement and even finished on fourth place, contributing to a great team result of DS Techeetah, Alexander Sims was not that lucky, His car was so badly damaged with pieces lying around, that a red flag had to be deployed.

Jean-Eric Vergne: “This is our first win as a new team, and I feel very proud and happy to have been able to bring this victory to DS. It’s a new relationship and it’s always difficult when you start. But after 20 races in a row with points, the last three races not being able to score any points was extremely hard - I didn’t sleep very well between Hong Kong. It was a big day for us - we're a Chinese team and winning here was absolutely amazing. On the podium, when we had the Chinese anthem and all the fans were singing... it was actually quite emotional."

Race results:

  1. Jean-Eric Vergne DS TECHEETAH 1:02:50.185s (26)
  2. Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams +1.762s (21)
  3. Antonio Felix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport +3.268s (15)
  4. Andre Lotterer DS TECHEETAH +4.631s (12)
  5. Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler +5.972s (10)
  6. Jerome D’Ambrosio MAHINDRA RACING +17.340s (8)
  7. Pascal Wehrlein MAHINDRA RACING +18.367s (6)
  8. Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams +19.405s (4)
  9. Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing +20.646s (2)
  10. Felipe Massa VENTURI Formula E Team +27.739s (1)

Championship points:

  1. Antonio Felix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport 62
  2. Jerome D’Ambrosio MAHINDRA RACING 61
  3. Jean-Eric Vergne DS TECHEETAH 54
  4. Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 54
  5. Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 52
  6. Edoardo Mortara VENTURI Formula E Team 52
  7. Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 44
  8. Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 43
  9. Andre Lotterer DS TECHEETAH 41
  10. Pascal Wehrlein MAHINDRA RACING 36
  11. Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 36
March 23, 2019 Driving photo: FIA

This website uses cookies.
To comply with the EU regulations you must confirm your consent to their use.

You can do that by clicking "OK" or simply continuing to browse this website.
If you do not wish to have cookies set, you can opt out in cookie settings